Skip to the content

Edgar Rice Burroughs

Edgar Rice Burroughs gained immense popularity with his adventurous storylines and exotic settings. His triumph in the realm of high adventure with characters such as John Carter and Tarzan the Ape Man arguably made him the most widely-imitated genre author during the mid–20th-century. 

Burroughs’ Barsoom series began with A Princess of Mars (1912). Set on the dying planet of Mars, it recounts the adventures of Earth-born Captain John Carter, who battles various creatures and eventually wins the hand of a beautiful princess.

His Pellucidar novels, including At the Earth's Core (1914), were based on the hollow-earth theory of John Cleves Symmes, about a timeless world where dinosaurs and beast-men roam forever. His most famous works are the Tarzan series, for which he wrote twenty-four novels, along with numerous other novels in the series either co-authored with Burroughs or authorized by his estate.

Induction Year: 2003


The Barsoom series (1912 – 1964)
The Pellucidar series (1914 – 1963)
The Tarzan series (1919 – 1965)


Tarzan (1929)
Tarzan the Ape Man (1932)
The Land That Time Forgot (1975)
At the Earth's Core (1976)