Skip to the content

Gordon R. Dickson

Gordon Dickson was a prolific author of science fiction, and published over 80 novels and many short stories since his first, “Trespass” (co-authored with Poul Anderson), was featured in Fantastic Story Quarterly in 1950.

His first novel, Alien from Arcturus (1956), established a tone of underlying seriousness which became marked in his later works, among them the sequence of novels—known alternately as the Childe Cycle or Dorsai series—which was to occupy much of his energy for decades. This ongoing series presents dramatized, fictional evolutionary blueprint for humanity's ultimate expansion through the galaxy as an inherently ethical species, and has become his best-known work.

Dickson won the Nebula award for Best Novelette with “Call Him Lord” (1966). He was president of the Science Fiction Writers of America for 1969-71, and in 1981 he won Hugo awards for Lost Dorsai (1980) and the short story “The Cloak and the Staff.”

Induction Year: 2000


Alien from Arcturus (1956)
The Genetic General (1960)
Necromancer (1962)
Tactics of Mistake (1970)
Sleepwalker's World (1971)
The R-Master (1973)
Timestorm (1977)
Lost Dorsai (1980)