Skip to the content


Frank Herbert

Novelist Frank Herbert's science fiction exhibits extraordinary complexity and creativity, and with classic novels like Dune (1965), he established himself as one of the genre’s preeminent world-builders. 

His emergence as a major writer commenced with Dune (1965), one of the most famous of all science fiction novels. Dune encompasses intergalactic politics, psi powers, religion, and war. Its primary impact, however, lies in its treatment of ecology. The planet Arrakis, with its giant sandworms and Bedouin-like Fremen clinging to precarious ecological niches through fanatical water conservation, is possibly the most convincing science fiction environment created. The series continues with Dune Messiah (1969), Children of Dune (1976), God Emperor of Dune (1981), Heretics of Dune (1984), and Chapterhouse: Dune (1985).

Herbert published other novels and series with admirable regularity, including The Green Brain (1966), Destination: Void (1966), and Hellstrom's Hive (1973). He won the first Nebula Award for Best Novel in 1966 for Dune, and also won the Hugo Award for the same book in the same year.

Induction Year: 2006


Dune (1965)
Destination: Void (1966)
Dune Messiah (1969)
Hellstrom's Hive (1973)
Children of Dune (1976)
God Emperor of Dune (1981)


Dune (1984)
Dune (2000)