Skip to the content


Harry Harrison

Harry Harrison's rich body of work ranged from the hardest of hard-science fiction adventure novels to merciless spoofs of the genre's conventions. 

Harrison began his career in the 1940s as an illustrator, and began publishing his own stories in the early 1950s. In 1957, he sold “The Stainless Steel Rat” to Astounding Science Fiction, beginning a long and close relationship with that magazine and its editor, John W. Campbell, Jr. This was his first of many tales that would feature the interstellar thief Slippery Jim DiGriz. Two other popular series followed: The Deathworld Trilogy, and Bill, the Galactic Hero.

Later novels tread more serious ground, including Make Room! Make Room! (1966), the film adaptation of which, Soylent Green (1973), won the 1973 Nebula award for Best Dramatic Presentation. Also of importance is Harrison's Eden series, begun in 1984, in which humanity battles a highly-evolved dinosaur race.

Induction Year: 2004


The Adventures of the Stainless Steel Rat (1961)
The Deathworld Trilogy (1960 – 1968)
Bill, the Galactic Hero (1965)
Make Room! Make Room! (1966)
Homeworld (1980)
West of Eden (1984)


Soylent Green (1973)