Skip to the content

Ray Harryhausen

Ray Harryhausen was one of the greatest stop-motion animators in film history, whose creations—born of metal armatures and synthetic flesh—amazed audiences for decades.

In partnership with producer Charles H. Schneer, Harryhausen helped create It Came From Beneath the Sea (1955), followed by Earth vs. the Flying Saucers (1956) and 20 Million Miles to Earth (1957). In 1958 came the most iconic of Harryhausen's creations: The Seventh Voyage of Sinbad. Jason and the Argonauts (1963) featured his famous horde of sword-fighting skeletons.

After a brief shift back to science fiction with films such as First Men in the Moon (1964), Harryhausen returned to fantasy in the 1970s and 1980s. He made two sequels to Sinbad, as well as Clash of the Titans (1981). In 1992 Harryhausen received an honorary Academy Award for his life's work and in 2003 he received a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

Induction Year: 2005 


Mighty Joe Young (1949)
The Beast from 20,000 Fathoms (1953)
Earth vs. the Flying Saucers (1956)
The Seventh Voyage of Sinbad (1958)
Jason and the Argonauts (1963)
First Men in the Moon (1964)
One Million Years B.C. (1966)
The Golden Voyage of Sinbad (1973)
Clash of the Titans (1981)