Skip to the content

Jack Williamson

Jack Williamson was a science fiction writer for nearly 80 years. He developed his talents in science fiction’s early years and was a strong voice in the genre’s Golden Age.

Inspired by early pulp magazines in the 1920s, he wrote his first story, “The Metal Man,” which was featured in Amazing Stories in 1928. A highly adaptable writer, Williamson was from the start equally comfortable with both story and novel forms. By 1940 he had published over twelve novels, and within the following decade had completed his two most significant and famous works: the Seetee and Humanoids series.

In the 1950s, Williamson embarked on a second career in academia, teaching the modern novel and literary criticism until his retirement in 1977. In 1973, he received a Pilgrim Award for this work, and in 1976 was given the second Grand Master Nebula award, preceded only by Robert A. Heinlein.

Induction Year: 1996


The Legion of Space (1947)
Darker Than You Think (1948)
The Humanoids (1949)
Seetee Ship (also known as) Seetee Shock (1951)
Star Bridge (1955)
Wonder's Child: My Life in Science Fiction (1984)