Skip to the content

James Blish

James Blish played a key role in the transformation of pulp science fiction into more mature and eloquent forms. Like many writers, he began as a fan in the 1930s and worked hard to develop his craft, but it was not until the 1950s, with his “Okie” stories, that he made his mark.

1950 through 1958 were extraordinarily productive years for Blish; many of his best short stories were published during this period. Several of these introduced biological themes that were at the time rare in science fiction. In addition, his Hugo award-winning novel Case of Conscience (1959) was one of the first serious attempts in science fiction to deal with religion.

Blish's later years were preoccupied with Star Trek books, as well as with the encouragement of younger writers through the Milford Science Fiction Writers' Conference, the Science Fiction Writers of America, and the UK's Science Fiction Foundation, each of which he helped to found.

Induction Year: 2002


Cities in Flight (1950)
The Warriors of Day (1951)
Jack of Eagles (1952)
The Seedling Stars (1957)
A Case of Conscience (1958)
Titan's Daughter (1961)