Skip to the content


Poul Anderson

Poul Anderson was an extremely prolific science fiction and fantasy author of over 100 novels and countless short stories. He was known for creating fast-paced adventure stories as well as science fiction built on a foundation of real science

Although he was born in Pennsylvania, Anderson lived in Denmark in his youth which may explain why a Nordic hue permeates much of his work. At the start of WWII, Anderson moved back to the United States and settled in Minnesota where he became friends with Gordon R. Dickson through the Minneapolis Fantasy Society. His writing career started slowly, beginning with “Tomorrow's Children” in Astounding Science Fiction in 1947.

In 1954, Anderson published The Broken Sword, the first novel in his successful Nordic series. In 1957, Earthman's Burden proved Anderson could write comically. One of his most notable characters, Dominic Flandry, surfaces in numerous novels in various series. The concluding volume of Anderson's magnum opus, Genesis, won the 1999 John W. Campbell Memorial Award for Best Science Fiction Novel.

Anderson was repeatedly honored by the science fiction community, serving as president of the Science Fiction Writers of America between 1972–1973, receiving seven Hugo awards, three Nebula awards and the Gandalf (Grand Master) Award in 1977.



The Broken Sword (1954)
The High Crusade (1960)
Ensign Flandry (1966)
Tau Zero (1970)
The Avatar (1978)
The Boat of a Million Years (1989)
Genesis (2000)