Skip to the content

Roger Zelazny

Roger Zelazny was one of the foremost authors in science fiction's New Wave movement. His use of prose packed with irony as well as psychological and mythological structures brought new dimension to the genre.

Zelazny prospered in short fiction, with early publications such as the short story “Passion Play” (Amazing Stories, 1962) and by “Horseman!” in Fantastic (1962). He prospered in short fiction, even authoring some tales under the pseudonym Harrison Denmark because of his high output.

Among his best-known works are “A Rose for Ecclesiastes” (1969), This Immortal, and Lord of Light (1967), the latter two novels earning him Hugo awards. During the course of his career, Zelazny received six Hugo awards and three Nebula awards.

Zelazny's most recognized work is the ten-book series The Chronicles of Amber (1970–1991), which are rife with mythological references. This motif became his most indelible contribution to the New Wave, helping science fiction literature shift conceptually from the hard sciences and the outside world to a more internal, interdisciplinary model of fantasy fiction. Zelazny himself often referred to his works as “Science Fantasy.” Overall, Zelazny produced a literary treasure trove and has been credited with inspiring such authors as George R.R. Martin and Neil Gaiman.

Induction Year: 2010


This Immortal (1966)
Lord of Light (1967)
“A Rose for Ecclesiastes” (1969)
Nine Princes in Amber (1970)
The Doors of His Face, The Lamps of His Mouth, and Other Stories (1971)
A Night in the Lonesome October (1993)


Damnation Alley (1977)