Skip to the content


Neil Gaiman

Neil Gaiman
Neil Gaiman

b. 1960

Neil Richard MacKinnon Gaiman is known for creating fantastical otherworlds that can be found just next door to ours.

He writes for both children and adults and was the first author to receive both the Carnegie and Newbery Medals for the same work—The Graveyard Book (2008), a young adult fantasy about a boy raised by supernatural entities.

Gaiman began his career as a journalist in England writing biographical accounts of pop culture figures. In 1989, he launched the groundbreaking The Sandman comics series (1989-1996, 2013-2015), which became one of the founding and best-selling titles for DC Comic’s adult-themed imprint, Vertigo (1993-2020). The series tells the story of a supernatural being named Dream, also known as Morpheus, The Lord of Dreams.

Gaiman is the author of over 30 novels, including American Gods (2001), Coraline (2002), and The Ocean at the End of the Lane (2013), as well as hundreds of poems, comics, graphic novels, essays, short fiction, and nonfiction works, many of which have been adapted to film, television, and theater. He co-authored the novel Good Omens (1990) with Hall of Fame inductee Terry Pratchett. His work in comics has received numerous Harvey, Eisner, and Stoker Awards; his novels have won the Hugo, Nebula, and British Fantasy Awards, among others.

Induction Year: 2018